Influenced & Evolved

Mar 11 to Apr 24

Opening reception: Friday, March 11, 6 – 8 pm

Using functional pottery to explore the nature of ceramic education, Influenced & Evolved examines how an artist’s studio practice evolves over time, and how pottery reflects on the nature of influences such as ceramic history, the Internet, and the studio practice of each artist. The exhibition will contrast the practice of emerging potters with that of artists widely recognized as established leaders in the field, and will ask them to respond to questions such as: Where and how do influences come to you in the contemporary world? How have early experiences continued to feed your work today? How do materials and media influence your studio practice? How is your artwork related to history? What’s been pivotal in your development? What’s the subject of your practice now and why? The artists invited to participate in the exhibition represent a diverse range of experiences. Curated by Mark Pharis, Influenced & Evolved features the work of Mike Helke, Michael Hunt and Naomi Dalglish, Tom Jaszczak, Alix Knipe, Matthew Metz, Brooks Oliver, Liz Quackenbush, Tim Rowan, and Linda Sikora.

Influenced & Evolved Related Events

We were honored to have Tim Rowan for the opening reception and a public artist talk, that took place on Thursday, March 10, at 6 pm in NCC’s library. This event was free and open to the public.

Additionally, Linda Sikora presented a free workshop during the closing weekend of the show on Saturday, April 23 from 12 – 4 pm. 

View the Catalog

 
 

Related Resources:

Mike Helke's website: mikehelke.com
Tales of a Red Clay Rambler: an interview with Mike Helke and Steve Rolf on developing a successful model for selling pottery
Michael Hunt & Naomi Dalglish's website: bandanapottery.com
Tales of a Red Clay Rambler: an interview with Bandana Pottery- Michael Hunt & Naomi Dalglish
Tom Jaszczak's  website: tomjaszczak.com
The Potters Cast: an interview with Tom Jaszczak
Alix Knipe's website: alixknipe.com
Matthew Metz's webpage
Craft in America: a video interview with Matthew Metz on his career as a potter
Brooks Oliver's website: brooksoliver.com
NCECA: Fab Friday, Oliver's demonstration in 3D printing
Liz Quackenbush's website: lizquackenbush.com
Linda Sikora's website: lindasikora.com
Ceramics Monthly: Sikora speaks to her aesthetics and studio practice
Tim Rowan's website: timrowan.com
Ceramics Monthly: an essay by Rowan about his life as a studio potter