MN NICE Students

Nov 19 to Dec 31

Opening Reception: Sunday, November 19, 12 – 4 pm
In conjunction with the Holiday Open House

Now entering its fourth year, MN NICE is an advanced certificate program that provides rigorous, personalized instruction for artists who are serious about taking the next step in their ceramic education. The program is designed to respond to the changing needs of emerging makers and give non-traditional students high-level training in ceramic materials, history and theory, and professional practice. Through instruction and individual mentorship, artists build the skills, knowledge, and insight necessary to create a personal and cohesive body of work.

MN NICE extends beyond the classroom to take advantage of the rich ceramic resources throughout the Twin Cities: including artist lectures, gallery tours, and studio visits with established ceramic artists (from both academic and non-traditional routes of study), artists of other media, and arts administrators. The program strives to prepare artists both artistically and professionally whether they are seeking gallery representation, applying for graduate school, or selling work to the public.

Our MN NICE emerging artists join this program because a horizon line is taking shape for them and they feel compelled to pursue a sharpened focus. They make an intense commitment to bring their work under a collective critical eye in the hopes of stepping toward a new future on terms they have defined through this program, with a new professional peer network, and a deeper understanding of the potential held by a daily life engaged in contemporary ceramics.

This particular exhibition features the work of 8 emerging ceramic artists from the third graduating MN NICE class. Viewers can expect to see wildly organic compositions juxtaposed with tightly controlled geometry, elegant simplicity alongside rugged textural layers, and utility underscored by design in this MN NICE graduation exhibition. Participating artists include: Matthew Cawley, Carol Elizabeth Hanson, Audrey Jellison, Becky David, Erin Parker, Marjorie Pitz, Kathryn Schroeder, and Heather Tietz.